Midnight at the Oasis QAL. . .

I watched some great YouTube videos on various paper piecing techniques thinking I could get more even triangles in the first block of the #midnightattheoasisqal.  In the end, I re-cut my triangles, used two pins and hand stitched them together – why mess with something that’s not broke?

This routine works for me and I enjoy it!

I’m really taking advantage of using favorite fabrics in favorite colours. . .which means this quilt will be purple with the occasional visit from some blue and green!

Here is my center block done!

I’m kinda crushing on this right now, in total love with my Keiko Goke border. . .I also took some time yesterday to cut some squares. . .

Nipper1 was good enough to keep me entertained with a lesson on the letter ‘E’

. . .while I started pulling the fabrics for the orange peels. . .

I’m thinking this is going to take me a while 🙂

Sarah Fielke’s next block will be up soon and I’ve not finished last week’s so i may have to put my orange peels to the side for a few days. . .we’ll see – decisions, decisions. . .oh and I’ll need to post pictures of the #schnitzelandboomysteryquiltswap mini that I completed.  I’m waiting for one last thing to arrive and then I can stick it in the post.  Sesame Street is just about finished. . .gotta go – Happy Halloween!

Tags: , ,

Categories: Hand Sewing, Jen Kingwell, Midnight at the Oasis, Needle Turn Applique, Piecing by Hand, WIPs

Social Channels

find me online. . .

15 Comments on “Midnight at the Oasis QAL. . .”

  1. October 31, 2013 at 5:03 pm #

    Oh I love that quilt. I can’t wait until my pattern gets here. I will be way behind tho

    • October 31, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

      I don’t think it matters, we’re allowed to post progress shots 😉 and i can’t wait to see yours!

  2. Jess
    October 31, 2013 at 7:20 pm #

    It looks so beautiful Caroline! Love your fabric choices, and that border is gorgeous!

    • October 31, 2013 at 7:28 pm #

      Thx Jess, I’m hoping it doesn’t get too dark, but I think the next border should balance it out 🙂

  3. November 1, 2013 at 1:44 am #

    This is gorgeous! The purple is so bold but very fitting! It has a very Arabian feel to it!

    • November 1, 2013 at 9:10 am #

      Thx Suz! I think I may get away with using every single purple in my stash 🙂 fyi, that’s a lot of purple 😉

  4. November 1, 2013 at 7:31 am #

    It’s gorgeous. I love your color and fabric choices. This is going to be fun to watch as you progress.

    • November 1, 2013 at 9:12 am #

      Thx Terri, I have these grand ideas of what it will look like when completed – I’m excited too 🙂 now if I could just needle appliqué in my sleep. . . Hmmm 😉

  5. November 2, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

    Love what you are doing! Maybe cause I like purple!

    • November 2, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

      I think purple is finally having a revival 😉

  6. Mystic Quilter
    November 2, 2013 at 8:53 pm #

    I just love your colours!

  7. November 3, 2013 at 3:23 am #

    Looking gorgeous. I love your fabric choices. I paper pieced mine triangles. Wish I’d be braver to use templates. Yours looks perfect, Well done!

    • November 3, 2013 at 4:51 am #

      Thx Jo, nothing seems to beat the perfection of paper piecing, but I can’t quite wrap my brain around it! I’m hoping to make Tula Pink’s Space Dust in the future to really give it a go.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ms Kingwell, please forgive me. . . | lalinsocal - November 8, 2013

    […] timeline, I really should have had all of my orange peel blocks completed in order to have linked my last post.  Oops – insert sheepish […]

Looking forward to reading what's on your mind. . .